Author Interview ~ January Bain ~ Winning Casey [Brass Ring Sorority 1]

_ButtonPlease welcome special guest the fabulous January Bain.

Winning Casey, the first book in the Brass Ring Sorority Series, is available exclusively at Totally Bound! You can download it right now, (just like I did ) and read it an entire month before it hits other vendors. Or you can pre-order, at Amazon or your preferred book store! (Also Available in PRINT!)

winningcasey_9781786862143_800_2

January has consented to submit to what I like to call an author interview, so here we go… JANUARY BAIN…

What was your favourite book as a child/teenager?

Wow, so many! I was like a sponge as a child, always had a book in my hot little hands. My mother would tease me that if I wasn’t careful there would be no books left to read in the local library! My copy of Gone With the Wind became tattered from being read so many times.

Who was the first author or what was the first book you read that introduced you to the genre that you most enjoy writing in?

You know, still enjoy writing in many genres: Romance, thriller, erotica, paranormal, science fiction—I enjoy learning about them all.

Have you always been a writer, even from your earliest recollection? Has being published always been one of your goals? And if not, what made you take that leap to submit your work to potential publishers?

Yep, I was one of those! “The dreaded teenage poet.” The proverbial bookworm that loved words. And yes, publishing is the best route to be able to share your stories, thoughts about the world, experiences you’ve had or imagined, with others. I feel so blessed to be publishing my new series about a badass group of women with Totally Bound. And so happy to be able to share the journey with readers and writers. 😊

Is there a particular word you overuse or writing technique that your editor(s) ride you about?

I really want to become a better writer, so I pay careful attention to every nuance, every suggestion made about my work and hope not to make the same mistake twice. But, I do remember liking the word “awesome” to much a few years back!

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? (Or do you even believe in it?) If so, how were you able to overcome it?

Nah, don’t believe in it! And now I got to pray I haven’t just jinxed myself, eh! I think, sitting down every morning, knowing from the night before which scene is to be written next, curtails that for me. At least it has so far.

If you could bring one of your own characters to life, who would it be and why?

Ah, that’s easy! My very first book was about a healer, and I so-o wanted that gift. I wrote my first book after watching, The Green Mile with Tom Hanks just after my beloved brother died young, and I wanted to experience that superpower in the worst way imaginable. Writing about a character that had that awesome gift helped heal the grief in me.

What are you reading right now?

I read about five books a week. Mostly research books, like for Winning Casey that required about a dozen books, most which are listed in the front section. I wanted to know enough about the subject of Canada’s Oak Island’s Money Pit that I could speak about it with authority. Sometimes I read an entire book for one important paragraph or fact. It’s important to me that research be accurate for readers. Very important. And I also read books on how to become a better writer, and of course, other romance authors books.

When you read, do you prefer a stand-alone or a series?

No real preference, I tend to chose a story line that interests me.

What would you like to be remembered for?

As a human being that tried daily to become a better one! I often fail, but I try.

Do you believe in love at first sight? And if so have you ever been so afflicted? Did you do anything about it? (Did you go for it?)

Oh yeah!!! My husband and I were so afflicted! I LOVE to write about how awesome that feels. See, I love the word awesome!

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? Why?

Right exactly where I am. In Buttonland. That’s the name of the sanctuary my wonderful handsome husband and I call our house and land. We live on twenty acres of jackpine right smack dab in the center of Canada. I love living in the country. Peaceful with less distractions. Great for writing!

If you were to do a reality show, which one would it be?

Cooking with Button. I love to cook!

What is the craziest, most exciting, or most dangerous thing you’ve ever done?

Write!

Name a celebrity, athlete, musician, etc. you’d most like to get naughty with.

My husband is the one for me.

If they were to make a movie about your life, what would the title be?

Life in Buttonland. My husband tagged me with the name when we first met, calling me “cute as a button”. He’s a romantic guy. And I know I’m lucky.

What is your favourite way to promote or connect with fans?

Facebook is becoming more common for me. I also have a blog and an email address. Face to face would be great, but hard to do living in the country.

😉 The Quickies! 😋

Favourite movie?

Excalibur

Dream Vacation?

Starting a new book feels like a vacation to me.

Dream Car?

Mazda RX7

Favourite Ice Cream Flavour?

Vanilla Cloud

And last, what can readers look forward to next?

Another series has begun in addition to the Brass Ringers caper series. I’m currently writing Racing the Tide, a fast-paced thriller romance due out in December. The book that introduces the Tetrad series is Racing Peril, a kindle worlds book coming out in December also connected to Desiree Holt’s Omega Team series. I love her writing! So intense and well researched.

Winning Casey – Brass Ring Sorority #1 Synopsis

winningcasey_9781786862143_postcard

Download it at Totally Bound right now and dive right in!

Or Pre-Order  ~  Amazon Canada    Amazon UK     Amazon US     Amazon AU

Barnes & Noble / Nook

Kobo

Also Available in Print!

Author Bio:

10996672_905543166164931_4467664944522105207_n[1]January Bain has wished on every falling star, every blown-out birthday candle, and every coin thrown in a fountain to be a storyteller. To share the tales of high adventure, mysteries, and full blown thrillers she has dreamed of all her life. The story you now have in your hands is the compilation of a lot of things manifesting itself for this special series. Hundreds of hours spent researching the unusual and the mundane have come together to create a series that features strong women who don’t take life too seriously, wild adventures full of twists and unforeseen turns, and hot complicated men who aren’t afraid to take risks. She can only hope the stories of her beloved Brass Ringers will capture your imagination as you follow their exploits as much as they did when she wrote them.

If you are looking for January Bain, you can find her hard at work every morning without fail in her office with two furry babies trying to prove who does a better job of guarding the doorway. And, of course, she’s married to the most romantic man! Who once famously remarked to her inquiry about buying fresh flowers for their home every week, “Give me one good reason why not?” Leaving her speechless and knocking her head against the proverbial wall for being so darn foolish. She loves flowers.

If you wish to connect in the virtual world she is easily found on Facebook, twitter and writes a weekly blog about her journey on Blogger. Oh, and she loves to talk books…

Blog

Twitter

Facebook Page

Goodreads

Email address for fans

And thank you for having me visit with you today, Kymmie! Much appreciated. 😊

A pleasure, January! It was great getting to know you. Come back any time! All the best with the new series!

winningcasey-earlydownload

Leave a comment